Trinamool Congress is now 7th ‘national party’ in India

Congress, BJP, BSP, CPI, CPI-M, NCP and All India Trinamool Congress are acknowledged country wide parties in India.

After winning consecutive Meeting polls in West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee on Friday introduced but any other feather to her cap with her Trinamool Congress being prolonged the ‘country wide birthday party’ repute through the Election Commission.

Assets within the ballot panel, quoting an order, stated Trinamool Congress has happy one of the conditions cited within the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968 to be regarded as a countrywide birthday party — having being known as a state party in as a minimum 4 states.
It’s miles a recognised country party in West Bengal, Manipur, Tripura and Arunachal Pradesh.

Now, India has seven regarded countrywide parties — Congress, BJP, BSP, CPI, CPI-M, NCP and All India Trinamool Congress.

Reputation as a countrywide or a nation birthday celebration ensures that the election symbol of that birthday celebration isn’t always utilized by another political entity in polls across India. Other registered however unrecognised political parties should choose from a pool of “loose symbols” announced through the Commission every now and then.

Besides, these parties get land or homes from the government to set up their birthday celebration places of work. They are able to have up to 40 ‘big name campaigners’ throughout electioneering. Others may have up to 20 ‘megastar campaigners’.

A political birthday celebration becomes eligible to be known as a countrywide birthday celebration if it has won 2 in keeping with cent of seats in Lok Sabha from at the least 3 special states inside the ultra-modern general election; or in a Lok Sabha or Assembly election it has polled 6 in line with cent of the whole valid votes in as a minimum four states, similarly to triumphing four Lok Sabha seats; or it’s been acknowledged as a state celebration in as a minimum four states.

The ballot panel had on August 22 amended a rule wherein it’s going to now assessment the country wide and state party popularity of political events each 10 years rather than the five.



Had the rule of thumb now not been amended, Trinamool Congress would not had been acknowledged as a country wide celebration because it had now not achieved well inside the Arunachal Pradesh Meeting polls and could have lost the kingdom celebration status there.

The modification in the rule of thumb had also come as a major reprieve for BSP, NCP and CPI as they were going through the possibility of losing their countrywide celebration fame after their dismal overall performance inside the 2014 Lok Sabha election. The EC had served them notices in 2014 on the issue.